• Walnut Street

    Newly completed Walnut Street project

  • Yankton 4th of July Fireworks

    Yankton's annual 4th of July fireworks show over the Missouri River.

  • Meridian Bridge

    Winter Scene

  • Fire Prevention Week

    Fire Prevention Week

  • Lewis & Clark Lake

    Lewis & Clark Lake

  • Jim River Bridge

    Jim River Bridge

  • Lake Area Trail

    Lake Area Trail

  • Meridian Bridge Moonlight

    Meridian Bridge Moonlight

  • Lewis & Clark Recreation Area

    Lewis & Clark Recreation Area

  • Walnut Street

    Walnut Street

  • Bragging Rights

    Bragging Rights

  • Downtown Streetscape

    Yankton's Downtown

  • Lewis & Clark Lake

    Missouri River Bluffs

  • 4th of July

    4th of July Fireworks Show

  • Riverside Park

    Riverside Park

  • Meridian Bridge Fog

    Meridian Bridge Fog

  • Meridian Bridge Winter

    Meridian Bridge Winter

  • Meridian Bridge Fall

    Yankton Meridian Bridge Fall

  • Lewis & Clark Lake

    Lewis & Clark Lake walking trails.

  • Rockin' Ribfest

    June 3-4

  • Yankton Marina

    Yankton Marina

  • Yankton Missouri River

    Yankton Missouri River

  • Fishing the Missouri

    Missouri River Yankton

  • Meridian Bridge

    Meridian Bridge

  • Ice Sailing

    Missiouri River Ice Sailing

  • Yankton Riverside Park Winter View

    Yankton Riverside Park Winter View

  • Missouri River Yankton

    Merry Christmas

  • Yankton Discovery Bridge

    Yankton Discovery Bridge

Collection Schedule & Map

The City of Yankton is transitioning to semi-automated solid waste collection and single stream recycling.  Garbage is collected every week, and Recycling is collected every other week on your scheduled day.   Your Garbage and Recycling carts should be set out before 7:00 A.M. on the day of pickup.  The interactive map below allows customers to easily find their scheduled garbage and recycling days.

Listed below are the holidays that affect normal garbage and recycling collection. 

Holiday Collection Schedule

  • Christmas Day – December 25, 2019: Wednesday and Thursday routes will be collected on Thursday, December 26, 2019.
  • New Year’s Day – January 1, 2020: Wednesday and Thursday routes will be collected on Wednesday, January 2, 2020.
  • President's Day – February 17, 2020: Monday and Tuesday routes will be collected on Tuesday, February 18, 2020.
  • Memorial Day – May 25, 2020: Monday and Tuesday routes will be collected on Tuesday, May 26, 2020.
  • Independence Day Observed – July 3, 2020:Thursday and Friday routes will be collected on Thursday, July 2, 2020.
  • Labor Day – September 7, 2020: Monday and Tuesday routes will be collected on Tuesday, September 8, 2020.
  • Veteran’s Day – November 11, 2020: Wednesday and Thursday routes will be collected on Thursday, November 12, 2020.
  • Thanksgiving Day – November 26, 2020: Wednesday and Thursday routes will be collected on Wednesday, Nov. 25, 2020.
  • Day after Thanksgiving – November 27, 2020: Friday routes will be collected on Friday, November 27, 2020.
  • Christmas Eve Day – December 24, 2020: Thursday's route will be collected on Wednesday, December 23, 2020.
  • Christmas Day – December 25, 2020: Friday, December 25th's route will be collected on Monday, December 28, 2020.

Printable PDF recycling calendar

 

If you have any questions regarding the recycling schedule, holiday collection or any other concerns regarding solid waste collection or curbside recycling, contact 605-668-5211 between 7:00 A.M. to 4:00 P.M., Monday through Friday.

Adam Haberman, Public Works Director 
416 Walnut Street
Yankton, SD 57078
Phone: (605) 668-5251