• Huether Family Aquatics Center

    Construction - July 1, 2020

  • Huether Family Aquatics Center

    Construction - July 1, 2020

  • Walnut Street

    Newly completed Walnut Street project

  • Yankton 4th of July Fireworks

    Yankton's annual 4th of July fireworks show over the Missouri River.

  • Meridian Bridge

    Winter Scene

  • Fire Prevention Week

    Fire Prevention Week

  • Lewis & Clark Lake

    Lewis & Clark Lake

  • Jim River Bridge

    Jim River Bridge

  • Lake Area Trail

    Lake Area Trail

  • Meridian Bridge Moonlight

    Meridian Bridge Moonlight

  • Lewis & Clark Recreation Area

    Lewis & Clark Recreation Area

  • Walnut Street

    Walnut Street

  • Bragging Rights

    Bragging Rights

  • Downtown Streetscape

    Yankton's Downtown

  • Lewis & Clark Lake

    Missouri River Bluffs

  • 4th of July

    4th of July Fireworks Show

  • Riverside Park

    Riverside Park

  • Meridian Bridge Fog

    Meridian Bridge Fog

  • Meridian Bridge Winter

    Meridian Bridge Winter

  • Meridian Bridge Fall

    Yankton Meridian Bridge Fall

  • Lewis & Clark Lake

    Lewis & Clark Lake walking trails.

  • Rockin' Ribfest

    June 3-4

  • Yankton Marina

    Yankton Marina

  • Yankton Missouri River

    Yankton Missouri River

  • Fishing the Missouri

    Missouri River Yankton

  • Meridian Bridge

    Meridian Bridge

  • Ice Sailing

    Missiouri River Ice Sailing

  • Yankton Riverside Park Winter View

    Yankton Riverside Park Winter View

  • Missouri River Yankton

    Merry Christmas

  • Yankton Discovery Bridge

    Yankton Discovery Bridge

Friends of the Library

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Friends of the Yankton Community Librarylibrary-friends-logo


The Friends of the Yankton Community Library shall be a non-profit organization whose purpose shall be to enhance the activities and goals of the Yankton Community Library.

The Friends support the Library in many ways! Some of their recent purchases are a new bench to replace our 1972 original and a DSLR camera so that we can capture all of the fun things that happen here:

PicMonkey Collage2

Friends meet the third Monday of each month at 5:15 p.m., in the library meeting room. Meetings are open to all members.


All individuals who have a Yankton Community Library card and are interested in the purpose of the Friends of the Library shall be eligible for membership upon payment of dues.

 Membership dues shall be in the following categories:
 Student $5.00
 Singles $10.00
 Family S15.00
 Patron $50.00
 Benefactor $100.00 and up

View more information in our brochure.

To join, fill out a membership form & dues and drop it off at the library.


The Board of Directors shall be composed of the following seven members: president, vice president, secretary, treasurer, one adult member-at-large, one young adult member-at-large, and the president of the Library Board or a designated Library Board member. The library director shall serve on the Board ex officio. The Board of Directors shall be elected by a majority of the members at the annual April meeting of this organization.

Members of the Board of Directors shall serve for terms of two years. No Board member shall serve more than three consecutive terms.

The President may appoint the following committees to conduct activities of the organization or to assist the Board of Directors: nominating, audit, membership, and book sale. Ad hoc committees may be appointed as needed.


Robin Feimer, President
Bob Nagy, Vice President
Pat Smith, Secretary
Sandy Winkelman, Treasurer
Terre Berkland, Member-at-Large
Tonja Koenigs, Library Board President


Yankton Community Library 
515 Walnut Street
Yankton, South Dakota 57078
Telephone: 605-668-5275
Fax: 605-668-5277