• Huether Family Aquatics Center

    Construction - July 1, 2020

  • Huether Family Aquatics Center

    Construction - July 1, 2020

  • Walnut Street

    Newly completed Walnut Street project

  • Yankton 4th of July Fireworks

    Yankton's annual 4th of July fireworks show over the Missouri River.

  • Meridian Bridge

    Winter Scene

  • Fire Prevention Week

    Fire Prevention Week

  • Lewis & Clark Lake

    Lewis & Clark Lake

  • Jim River Bridge

    Jim River Bridge

  • Lake Area Trail

    Lake Area Trail

  • Meridian Bridge Moonlight

    Meridian Bridge Moonlight

  • Lewis & Clark Recreation Area

    Lewis & Clark Recreation Area

  • Walnut Street

    Walnut Street

  • Bragging Rights

    Bragging Rights

  • Downtown Streetscape

    Yankton's Downtown

  • Lewis & Clark Lake

    Missouri River Bluffs

  • 4th of July

    4th of July Fireworks Show

  • Riverside Park

    Riverside Park

  • Meridian Bridge Fog

    Meridian Bridge Fog

  • Meridian Bridge Winter

    Meridian Bridge Winter

  • Meridian Bridge Fall

    Yankton Meridian Bridge Fall

  • Lewis & Clark Lake

    Lewis & Clark Lake walking trails.

  • Rockin' Ribfest

    June 3-4

  • Yankton Marina

    Yankton Marina

  • Yankton Missouri River

    Yankton Missouri River

  • Fishing the Missouri

    Missouri River Yankton

  • Meridian Bridge

    Meridian Bridge

  • Ice Sailing

    Missiouri River Ice Sailing

  • Yankton Riverside Park Winter View

    Yankton Riverside Park Winter View

  • Missouri River Yankton

    Merry Christmas

  • Yankton Discovery Bridge

    Yankton Discovery Bridge

City Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

territorial-capitalThe City of Yankton’s form of government is unique in that it is one of only a few in the State of South Dakota to have the Council/Manager form of government.

Only a handful of other cities in South Dakota to have this form of government. In 1910 the commission form of government was adopted for Yankton. In 1955 the form of government was changed to the current Council/Manager plan.

The Council/Manager plan is the system of local government that combines the strong political leadership of elected officials in the form of a city commission, with the strong managerial experience of an appointed local government manager. The plan establishes a representative system where all power is concentrated in the elected council as a whole and where the council hires a professionally trained manager to oversee the delivery of public services. There are over 3,000 local governments who operate under this plan.

The Yankton Board of City Commissioners is made up of nine Commissioners. Each Commissioner serves a three year term and may be re-elected. The Mayor is appointed by his or her peers at the first meeting in May of each year. The Mayor may also serve more than one term. The City of Yankton has had 63 different mayors since it was granted its franchise on January 2, 1869. The first elected mayor was William Nels Collamer, a tinsmith and former territorial legislator. Nathan Johnson is the current Mayor for the City of Yankton.


Back: Mason Schramm (2022), Chris Ferdig (2020), Jake Hoffner (2020), Dave Carda (2021), Jerry Weber (2022), Amy Miner (2022) 
Front: Stephanie Moser (2020), Finance Officer Al Viereck City Manager Amy Leon, Nathan Johnson (2021), City Atty Ross Den Herder, Bridget Benson (2021)


Yankton City Commission 
416 Walnut Street
PO Box 176
Yankton, SD 57078-0176
(605) 668-5221
(605) 668-5265 FAX